They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Syncing 3 cameras

Premiere Pro discussions.

Syncing 3 cameras

Postby momoffduty » Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:14 am

I've been trying to sync up 3 cameras from the wedding ceremony. They are an HV20, HV30 and GoPro Black 3+. Thought I had it in sync and then half way thru the audio/video was off by a few frames. It was odd that it occurred in the same clips when the beginning of the clips were in sync. I was able to isolate when it started and found that the HV20 clip had a "blip" of a few frames that did not record which made it out of sync. I've never seen this happen. Maybe a defect in the tape or something happened during transfer?
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Aug 14, 2015 11:26 am

Part of the fun of editing wedding videos :ha:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17469
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby momoffduty » Fri Aug 14, 2015 12:31 pm

You got that right Chuck! There are now 2 places. I had to cut out the blur of 3 frames and move the clip over 1 1/2 seconds. Bob had posted a tip to someone recently to use Alt + arrow keys to move frame by frame. Learn something new everyday here. :-D

The plan was to use the HV20 with new mic as the main audio. Besides the skipped frames, the first few minutes has no audio and I will use one of the other camera's audio. Maybe fade in the new mic audio and fade out the other cam's audios? There are places that I want to add the other cam's audio because one person's mic was going on and off. And use it for the bride & groom that were not mic. Is it better to increase the volume in the property panel or to right click>audio gain and up the db? The right click option you can't keyframe.

I hate audio. ](*,)

Here are the 2 places of skipped frames and I moved the clips over. I placed a piece of black matte to hold the place just in case I accidentally bumped it later.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby Dave McElderry » Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:25 pm

I have a solution Cheryl....silent film! :-D

TN_star-wars-silent-film.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4009
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby sidd finch » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:48 am

Mom I have had this happen with all my tape based cameras at one time or another. I attribute it to the DV tape having some imperfections that cause this. No science just my own feeling. Also, depending on how big the church is you might have some audio delay associated with the tape. So the audio sounds in sync but their lips appear to be moving out of sync

A better Formula:

v = x/t

By plugging the variables you can easily find the delay time.

Where v is the delay time

x is the distance between the sound source and the delay

t is the speed of sound (340.29 m / s) at sea level.


Sidd
“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby momoffduty » Sat Aug 15, 2015 8:56 am

Dave you are a genius!!! :YY: A long, long time ago in the Muvipix galaxy, Chuck made a creative silent film wedding video. Wonder if he still has that around?

Sidd, good thought on the time delay. I will double check that. :) And good to know that it has happened to you before with tape based media.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Aug 15, 2015 9:27 am

I have had the same thing happen to me as well Cheryl, you are handling the editing very well. There really isn't more that you could do other than what you are already doing. This is one of the reasons I gave up editing weddings, it can take forever to finish especially when these kinds of problems pop up. They usually tried to give me an audio feed directly from the sound board, then I would delete all of the audio on the video clips and just use the audio file, unless of course something happened to that, and of course it did... That's the problem, the challenge and the fun of recording and editing live events :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17469
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Aug 15, 2015 9:36 am

momoffduty wrote:Dave you are a genius!!! :YY: A long, long time ago in the Muvipix galaxy, Chuck made a creative silent film wedding video. Wonder if he still has that around?


I do have it around somewhere, if anyone is really interested I can dig it out of storage :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17469
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby Bubby Grub » Sat Aug 15, 2015 4:19 pm

Actually Chuck I am very interested could you dig it out of storage please Bubby :YY:
When all else fails, Hug your Teddy.
User avatar
Bubby Grub
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 10:23 pm
Location: Queensland Australia

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby momoffduty » Sat Aug 15, 2015 5:59 pm

Chuck, I can see where weddings can be a head ache. The soundboard was on for the mics, but no tech. The music was acoustic violin & guitar. The new mic did a great job and there seems to be a little too much base. I lowered the base on a different project and cleaned it up nicely.

Yes, repost your silent movie again!
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7024
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Aug 15, 2015 9:39 pm

Well thank you for all of the enthusiasm for the silent film :)

I will post it tomorrow. It was a "Getting Ready" piece for my niece's wedding. The groom lost a bet the night before so he had to play golf with his pants down, that's what he was doing to get ready for the wedding while the bride was getting her hair done. It made for a comical silent movie.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17469
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Syncing 3 cameras

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:20 am

Posted the silent movie here
viewtopic.php?p=118806#p118806
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17469
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to Premiere Pro 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron