They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Specific to Premiere Elements version 2018

Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby RJ Johnston » Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:59 pm

Sometimes I see erratic playback of the timeline in Premiere Elements 2018 even if the timeline has been rendered. When I watch the timecode counter during playback, I can see it continually "rewind" a few frames at a time and then proceed forward. If I stabilize the clip, the erratic behavior is even in the rendered timeline.

I found a pattern:

Power On computer and run Premiere Elements. Timeline playback is erratic, even if rendering not required.

After a Power Restart, I try the same process, but now the timeline plays back perfectly.

I now power off the computer.

After a power on and running Premiere Elements, playback is again erratic.

I do a power restart and run Premiere Elements. There's perfect playback.

etc.

Any idea what might be happening? I've disabled all StartUp items, but that didn't make a difference.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:29 pm

I've noticed that sometimes, when I first play my timeline, the program stutters a bit. But, if I stop it for a moment so that it can "catch its breath", when I restart playback it plays fine.

Is that what you're seeing, Robert?

I'm not sure what's going on that's causing it. It's almost like the first time I hit play I've got the program by surprise. But that's what I sometimes see.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby RJ Johnston » Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:30 pm

Hi Steve,

In the past, playback has been like you said. But now, no matter how long a pause between plays, there's stuttering. Since this just started in the last couple of days, I am wondering if it had anything to do with the Microsoft updates.

I suppose if I had logs to compare what processes are loaded after a cold start vs. process loaded after a restart there might be a clue. I really feel like not doing that. I'll just keep doing power restarts if playback is bad.

Rob
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby George Tyndall » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:19 pm

RJ Johnston wrote:I am wondering if it had anything to do with the Microsoft updates.


Hi RJ,

I still recall how you helped me, probably 10 years ago, to get rid of some red frames that appeared on my PRE7 timelines. :TU:

:meet:
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
User avatar
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby RJ Johnston » Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:21 am

George Tyndall wrote:Hi RJ,

I still recall how you helped me, probably 10 years ago, to get rid of some red frames that appeared on my PRE7 timelines. :TU:

:meet:


Hi George,
::wav::

Yes, I remember those red frames very well. I was so glad there was a problem to solve.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby RJ Johnston » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:12 pm

I believe I have found the application that is responsible for causing the erratic behavior in Premiere Elements 2018 that I reported in the first post.

There were four candidates, which I quickly uninstalled one after the other. The erratic behavior stopped. Later, after erratic-free usage, I got brave and installed one of the applications that I had uninstalled: Nikon ViewNV 2 v2.10.3. This has a movie editor, viewer, downloader for some Nikon cameras. The erratic behavior came back immediately. When I uninstalled it, however, the behavior didn't go away immediately. I had to start a new 16.0 folder in Appdata\Roaming\Adobe\Premiere Elements\.

Due to the hassle involved in testing this, I'm not going to repeat the test. But if the behavior comes back, I'll know that it wasn't ViewNV 2, and I'll post it here.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:25 pm

Amazing research, Robert!

Would you recommend starting a new folder in that directory to fix the problem?
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby RJ Johnston » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:04 pm

I just renamed the existing "16.0" folder in AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Premiere Elements\ to "rjrjrj16.0" and then let Premiere Elements build a new "16.0" folder. I don't delete any folders.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:58 pm

[quote="Steve Grisetti"]Amazing research, Robert!

Steve, you'll have to take back your comment.

The erratic behavior came back, so it is not the Nikon application that was causing the problem. Even my Outlook application today was wonky after a cold start. But a Restart fixed the problem. Also, my Sticky Notes disappeared, but reappeared after a Restart.

My Windows account may be corrupted. I started a new account and ran Premiere Elements 2018 without any problem. I'll just have to wait to see how long that lasts.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby sidd finch » Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:05 pm

Do you think it might be something in RAM that is causing it. When you restart it clears RAM memory and the system has a fresh start?

Sidd
“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Albert Einstein
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Erratic Playback Fixed by Restart

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:12 pm

Sidd,

I don't know what it is. For a few days PE was working, but then after I let Adobe update Photoshop, the problem came back. I really believe Microsoft messed something up when they did their updates.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA


Return to PRE version 2018 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron