They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Serious PC Upgrade

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Walter Seaton » Wed Dec 27, 2017 6:16 pm

I finally realised that my PC and its components are 8 years old and I am planning to buy a new and much more powerful system. I am using Photoshop/Premiere Elements 14 (have been using previous versions for years) and ProShow Producer at this time. Of course, my existing PC is 32 bit and the new one would be 64 bit, so here are my questions. Presumably I will have to upgrade my PSE and PRE again (or does 14 handle both 32 and 64?). Will I still be able to work on previous projects (edit them) that were all compiled on 32 bit? Will I still be able to use templates (for example, my opening title sequences and end title sequences) which I made and saved in 32 bit and use them on the new 64 bit system? Or should I just forget about my very serious life-long hobby altogether and spend my money on some good Scotch instead?
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:52 pm

You will certainly be able to use Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements 14 on a new system. In fact, they're both 64-bit programs, so they may run even better on 64-bit Windows 10 system with a good load of RAM.

But before you shoot for the moon, what are you trying to address by upgrading your hardware? Is your current system lagging or slowing you down?

Your camcorder is, I think, miniDV. If so, you'll likely have to upgrade it too when you buy a new computer since most current computers don't offer FireWire connections or miniDV capture systems.

That said, you have got a pretty marginal computer. Its benchmark rating is less than 3000. And I'd recommend at least a rating of 5000-6000 minimum for modern video editing. (Closer to 10,000 if you're editing 4k.)
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

The good news is that it shouldn't be hard to find a computer with those specs (if you don't mind buying a refurb) for about $500. And that's with a good sized (500 gb to 1 TB) hard drive at a good 12-16 gig of RAM. And, at that price, you'd likely have enough in your budget to pick up a refurbished Canon AVCHD camcorder (as low as $150). I think you'd be amazed how much better video looks on AVCHD and how much easier it is to get it to your computer and edit it.

But that's assuming you're on a tight budget. If not, the world is your oyster! (Just try not to overspend. Technology drops in value fast than anything, so there's nothing that wastes money like trying to "futureproof" yourself by buying tomorrow's technology today.)

How much do you want to spend and what are you planning to accomplish? We can help you.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Bob » Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:30 am

Just to clarify one part of your question, 32 bit and 64 bit versions affect only the OS and program modules -- not the project files or media files. The editor installation program should install the bit version that matches your OS. The project files and media files are not dependent on the OS bitness and can be used on either system assuming the same release of pre is used on both.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5707
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:09 am

But (correct me if I'm wrong, Bob) if a 64-bit program is installed on a 32-bit operating system, it will still be limited by the operating system. In other words, it will not be able to access more than 3-4 gigs of RAM.

In the case of consumer programs like Premiere Elements and Photoshop Elements, it's not a huge performance boost. But, once they're installed on a 64-bit OS, they'll be better able to take advantage of increased RAM space.

(In fact, I'm actually kind of surprised that there is such a thing as 32-bit Windows 10. I thought all OSes had moved up to 64-bit at this point.)
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:53 am

I don't see any reason to not run a 64 bit OS at this point.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17416
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Walter Seaton » Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:18 am

Steve, Bob and Chuck, thank you both for your detailed and helpful replies. To answer Steve’s questions:

First two questions you did not ask – how old am I? 89 but physically and mentally very fit; and where do I live – Toronto, Canada. Because of my age I can no longer travel worldwide to shoot documentary images and am now working up much of my “stock” images and footage accumulated over the years. Also the cost of equipment here is substantially higher than in the US.

What am I trying to address? My PC slows down appreciably when I have used it continuously for a while, programs like PRE suddenly tell me there is an error and it has to shut down, when I identify an image in Organiser and click on “Edit in PSE” it takes noticeable time for PSE to react – and I have similar problems with other applications which are not connected to working on videos (such as keeping track of my finances, writing reports in connection with my volunteer activities, copious email, scheduling my time, keeping track of birthdays etc. etc.). Because of the age of what you correctly called my “pretty marginal computer” and the fact that, being completely retired, persistent crashes of my PC are not acceptable to me and waste my time (I don’t want to sound gloomy but I don’t know how much time I have left) I decided to get a new computer – which will certainly be the last one I will ever get. So, in one way, I am indulging myself.

I plan to have my new machine built in a professional shop which specialises in Supporting Photoshop and Premiere and associated audio systems (Signa Computer Systems). I will ask them to include a readily accessible Firewire connection (yes, my camcorder is miniDV). Re miniDV capture, I thought PRE does that.

Having described what I am after (much as above) the technician at the shop recommended one of each:
Intel Core i7-7700 Quad-Core Up to 4.2 GHz LGA 1151 65W Desktop Processor
Asus PRIMEb250m-a Desktop Motherboard – Intel B250 Chipset – Socket H4 LGA-1151
Corsair 32GB DDR4 2666Mhz Vengenence Memory Kit
Crucial MX300 1TB M.2 Internal Solid State Drive (I asked for solid state on my assumption
that it would be more reliable for a longer period of time)
PNY Quadro P1000 4GB DDR5 Graphics Card
In-Win Case EM048 Matx, mini-ITX Mini Tower – USB 3.0 – Black 350W Audio FAN

In addition, I will still have to add a CD/DVD burner/player.

Including taxes, the price quoted is Canadian$ 3,500 (approximately US$ 2,700); included in that price is Windows10 installed, all installation charges, an additional installed 1TB solid state drive and an optical output card (I use a fibre optics cable to carry music streams from my PC to my home audio system). Naturally, if I can spend a little less that would be welcome.

As always, your comments would be very much appreciated.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:18 pm

That's a gorgeous machine, Walter, and it will definitely more than meet your needs. But that's more money that I would EVER spend on computer. And a more than adequate machine could easily be built for a fraction of that. (Remember the Golden Rule of technology. Whatever you buy this year will be selling for half that price next year. So I feel more comfortable spending $600 this year and having it lose $300 in value by next than I would spending $2000 and having it lose $1000 or more in value in a mere 12 months.)

But if you have the money and it gives you joy, it's definitely fully loaded!
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Walter Seaton » Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:14 pm

Thank you, Steve.

I must admit that I was taken aback a bit by the bottom line - and will try to get something shaved off. However, since I no longer have to save for my retirement, my kids have had all the education they need and are now educating THEIR kids, I can afford to be a little flexible financially. So I will no doubt bite this bullet in the next week or so, after having the technician figure out how I can connect to the new PC all my externals (such as printer, external hard drives) which are all USB2.0 to the new machine, which is USB3.0.

Again, very many thanks for your time and good advice in helping me through this.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Peru » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:27 pm

Walter Seaton wrote: after having the technician figure out how I can connect to the new PC all my externals (such as printer, external hard drives) which are all USB2.0 to the new machine, which is USB3.0.

USB 3.0 is backwards compatible with USB 2.0. The governing factor is whether you will need a new driver for your printer. The external drives will work OK.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3002
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Walter Seaton » Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:02 pm

Thanks for this "heads up" Peru. My printer is a Canon MX922 so, if needed, there should not be a problem getting a new driver.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Bob » Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:09 am

But (correct me if I'm wrong, Bob) if a 64-bit program is installed on a 32-bit operating system, it will still be limited by the operating system. In other words, it will not be able to access more than 3-4 gigs of RAM.


You cannot install a 64-bit program on a 32-bit Operating system. You can install a 32-bit program on a 64-bit operating system, but it will run in 32-bit emulation. The emulation service provides interoperability across the 32/64 boundary for application calls to OS services. However, not all services are supported -- some 32-bit applications will not run. Further, 32-bit processes cannot load 64-bit DLLs for execution, and 64-bit processes cannot load 32-bit DLLs for execution. 32-bit applications will only be able to access a maximum of 4GB virtual memory and half of that is reserved for system use leaving only about 2GB available for application use. 64-bit applications do not have that limitation.

In the case of consumer programs like Premiere Elements and Photoshop Elements, it's not a huge performance boost. But, once they're installed on a 64-bit OS, they'll be better able to take advantage of increased RAM space.


The application installation program should be able to install the corresponding version for the operating system. That is, it will install 64-bit Premiere Elements 14 on Windows 10 64-bit. With a native 64-bit implementation, Premiere Elements and Photoshop Elements will be able to take advantage of the significantly larger virtual memory space and will run much more efficiently. The 64-bit cpu instructions can operate on much larger amounts of data efficiently and the 64-bit OS can run much more efficiently as well. With the amount of ram you are considering, the system should be quite snappy -- especially with the SSD boot drive.

One thing to watch out for: Windows 10 Home edition can only support up to 16GB RAM -- any more than that will not be used. Windows 10 Pro edition will support the larger amount of RAM. The builder should be aware of this. But, it doesn't hurt to verify that they will not be using the Home edition.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5707
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Walter Seaton » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:51 am

Thank you Bob. I learned a lot from your explanation. FYI, the technician has included Windows10 Pro in his offer.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:33 pm

I spent about $1000 USD on my last machine and it isn't much different from the specs you quoted Walter. I do not have a 1TB SSD and I have an AMD processor, that lowered my cost. If you have the money to spend that sounds like a great machine. If you would like to spend less for something comparable we can point you to some other options on Amazon and eBay.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17416
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Walter Seaton » Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:33 pm

Hi Chuck, Many thanks for this. I would be very happy to read about the other options you mentioned. However, in case you have missed this in the flurry of messages on this subject, I live in Toronto, Canada where the prices for everything are substantially higher than for the same items in the US. Also, there seems to be some arrangement between Amazon US and Amazon Canada whereby Amazon US will not ship certain products to Canada even if Amazon Canada does not offer them.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Serious PC Upgrade

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:41 pm

Hi Walter, Yes I understand the difficulty at times between sales in the US and sales in Canada. Check out the link below and take a look at the options and prices. I purchased a Cyberpower PC about 2 years ago and absolutely love it.

Cyberpower PCs on Amazon.CA

This one has a lot of what you listed above and the price is $1400 Canadian, it even has a 6gb graphics card but only a 120gb SSD.

https://www.amazon.ca/CYBERPOWERPC-GXi1 ... berpowerpc
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17416
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Next

Return to PRE Version 14 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests